Being a Tourist in Laguna Beach

On a lovely Spring Saturday recently, my brother-in-law was visiting from Chicago.  It was one of those beautiful days between winter and spring when the sun is trying so hard to be mighty, but just can’t quite muster what it takes for a beautiful warm day.  We spent the day running errands and strolling in Laguna Beach, just like a regular tourist. gallery_roomOur first errand was out to Laguna Canyon Road to John Barber’s glass blowing studio.  I am not embarrassed to say I am a glass junkie and I was in heaven checking out his beautiful work.  His studio is this adorable cottage, blue_vasewith glass shells and bubbles scattered everywhere.

Inside, is a small sampling of his gorgeous work.  I especially loved his blue and silver vases!

I think I did a really good job of dressing for the weather.  I wore a wonderful Mayva K Collection Shawl.  It has such a fun tribal pattern with lots of fringe.  It is great for the in-between weather and worked great for both the overcast and sunny parts of the day!  DSC_3062 copyThese are Paige Verdugo Crop jeans.  Since I am vertically challenged, crop jeans usually fit perfectly and don’t need to be hemmed.  Here, I paired them with my Vince Camuto Linford Bootie from one of my fall/winter Trunk Club boxes curated by Molly Weber.  The stacked heel makes them very stable and I was comfortable walking around all day. DSC_3057 I have a pair of peep toe I can’t wait to try out. The blouse is from the wonderful group at Elizabeth & Clarke.  They have a selection of shirts every quarter and you pick the one (or ones) you love.  The subscription is just $60 for one shirt down to $40 per shirt if you get three.  I have been a loyal customer for several years, so I have wonderful shirts.  And DSC_3063 copy.jpgthe great thing about their service is that they keep the favorites available for a long time.  They have also started offering ‘no stain’ shirts, so I will let you know how that goes!

For those of you who know my day-to-day, I have been working on an LLM in Alternative Dispute Resolution.  I started the blog about the time I was starting my externship, i.e., I pay them to work for free to get my degree.  This was my last hurdle and the blog suffered while I worked on this.  Now that I have just a few hours left to complete before the end of the month, I intend to be a more consistent blogger!  Best laid plans, though. A

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Being a Tourist in Laguna Beach

Leave a Reply

