Entwined in Blue Cable

“We seldom stop to think how many people’s lives are entwined with our own.  It is a form of selfishness to imagine that every individual can operate on his own or can pull out of the general stream and not be missed.” Ivy Baker Priest

I have been trying to get great photos of this outfit for months and thanks to Taylor and Colton from Infinite Sum, here they are!FO1A2781

My blue straw fedora from The Hat Box in Laguna Beach worked perfectly with this outfit and I totally scored with the Tommy Bahama handbag from the same Laguna Beach outing.  The sleeveless t-shirt was a steal from Ted Baker’s line from last summer, and, of course, it is FO1A2963blue, so I am buying it!  The jeans are Comptoir des Cotonniers from a trip to Milan a couple of years ago.  I love rolling them up and pairing them with wedge sandals by Dolce Vita, not too high and easy to walk in.

I am in love with this sweater.  It is Nic + Zoe, handpainted, cable knit and just fabulous.  It is my go-to sweater right now. Check out the detail!FO1A3002

My grandmother taught me how to knit and I still take up the needles for scarves to keep me busy on long trips. I have always been astounded at how the cable is created.  You take several stitches off the knitting needle and put them ‘on hold’ on another needle and then bring them back into the pattern after the allotted stitches.  Each stitch is entwined in a particular way to make the pattern.  Much like us, stitches in simple rows make a perfectly good garment, but the ones that are intertwined in patterns and detail are the most interesting to me.  Any dropped stitch will be missed and obviously each stitch is important to the integrity of the garment and cannot exist without the others.  To all the entwined ‘stitches’ in my life, thank you for making my life interesting!

One response to “Entwined in Blue Cable

  1. Love it Cindy! I love blue too and am going to try to find the sweater – if I am unsuccessful, would you mind knitting one for me?
    xxoo Dawn Patrol Chick #5

    Like

Leave a Reply

